I Have Sex

I recently watched an incredible video in support of Planned Parenthood. The focus of the video was young adults stating simply and clearing “I have sex,” “My friends have sex.” ” I want to have sex,” etc. It is full simple, honest declaration of the truth in the lives of the vast majority of youth world wide.

I have sex. I have been having sex for about a decade now. I have sex both outside marriage and inside it. I am not alone.

According to a recent study, by age 44, 99% of Americans have had sex, and 95% had done so before marriage. This is not a new or recent trend either. The study also shows that even among women who were born in the 1940s, “nearly nine in 10 had sex before marriage.” I have sex would be a pretty common refrain if everyone was honest and open about it.

Sex is normal, a part of every day life. Sex is common, nearly as universal as eating and breathing. Sex is not inherently some mystical, but is instead a very human and earthly experience.

Do not let anyone shame you for having sex. You are not some outlier, some rare freak. Nor are you going to bring down the entire western civilization. You are no different than your peers, no different than the generations before you.

Do not hide your sexuality; own it. Be proud of it. Speak confidently and honestly of your experiences, both good and bad. It is part of what makes us who we are and hiding it does us no good.

I have had sex, I do have sex, and I will continue to have sex into the future, and I am not ashamed.

-That is all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

