Proud to be an American

Today is Memorial Day here in the United States. It is a holiday that honors the men and women who have died in military service to this country. Freedom is not free, and so many have given the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom.

It is easy to be disheartened and cynical about both our current government and our two current wars. But those decisions are made at a level far above the average soldier. The men and women on the ground are merely doing their job. A job that is far too dangerous for far too little pay. It is a job I would never voluntarily sign up for, and so I thank those who have done so.

When I was a kid, I truly believed with my entire heart the myth that the United States was the best place to live in the world in every possible way. I am wiser now; the rest of the world has a great deal to offer as well. Despite my cynicism, there is still a patriot in me. So I will leave you a song from childhood: Lee Greenwood’s “God Bless America.” It is simple, cheesy, and ridiculously patriotic. But I still like it.  Enjoy.

-That is all.

 

One thought on “Proud to be an American

Leave a Reply

